Conference Agenda (2012)

"Nuclear Energy Development in India: Role of Law & Legal Institutions"
         18th Feb 2012 : Conference Day

8:00 -9:30 AM                             Registration/Coffee: India Islamic Cultural Centre, Lodhi Estate


9:30 - 11:00: Inaugural Session


        M P Ram Mohan, Nuclear Law Association & The Energy and Resources Institute

Chair of the Session:

        Justice S Rajendra Babu: Former Chief Justice of India & Advisory Council Member, NLA

Inaugural address:

        Dr R B Grover, Principal Adviser, Department of Atomic Energy & Director, Homi Bhabha National Institute


Principal Partner


Associate Partner


Student Program Partner

Publication Partner

International Journal of Nuclear Law

10:30 – 10:45:                         Q& A and Awards function: Giving awards/prizes to students

10:45 - 11:00                           Coffee break

11:00 – 12:30 PM

Panel Session 1: Nuclear Polity, Law and Governance – Perspectives

-  Nuclear decision-making and the Parliament of India 

-  International Nuclear Energy Politics and India 

-  Role of the states and nuclear energy development

Moderator: Jacob Koshy: Science & Environment Correspondent, The Mint


            Ashok Chauhan, Executive Director & Head - Nuclear Fuel Cycle Group, Nuclear Power Corporation of India

            Shyam Divan, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India           

            Patrick N. Giordano, Founder Partner, Giordano & Associates Ltd.,United States

            Dr. Rajeswari Rajagopalan, Senior Fellow, Observer Research Foundation

12: 20 – 12:30                           Q & A

12:30 – 1: 30                             Lunch

1:30 – 3:00

Panel Session 2: Nuclear Regulatory Process

-  The Nuclear Safety Regulatory Authority Bill, 2011

-  Regulatory structure and regime  

-  Public Involvement in the nuclear regulatory process 

-  Regulatory independence and accountability 

-  Comparative regulatory structure and process

Chair and Keynote address: Shri S.S. Bajaj, Chairman, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB)


Dipankar Bandopadhayay, Senior Associate, Bharucha & Partners, Mumbai

Els Reynaers Kini, Partner, Kini & Co., Advocates & Solicitors, Mumbai

Kanika Guba, Student, National Law University, Delhi

Lukasz Dariusz Mlynarkiewicz, Board member: Institute for Political and Legal Studies, Poland

2:30 – 2:45                                   Q & A

2:45 – 3:00                                  Tea Break

   3:00 – 4:30

Panel Session 3: Nuclear Liability and Compensation

-  International and Indian nuclear liability law

-   Liability of suppliers and vendors –right to recourse

-  Tort liability and writ jurisdiction

- Nuclear insurance

Chair: Patrick Reyners, Former Head of Legal Affairs, OECD-NEA & Advisory Council Member, NLA


Mohit Abraham, Advocate on Record, Supreme Court of India & Partner, PXV Law Partners

R Raghavan, General Manager, General Insurance Corporation of India

Badrinath Durvasula, Vice President & Head Legal, Larsen & Toubro Limited

Saurabh Bhattacharya, Assistant Professor, National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata

4:15 – 4:30 - Concluding session

          Dr Rajesh Babu, Indian Institute of Management -Kolkata & Nuclear Law Association

7: 30 – 10:00 PM                      Dinner/Cocktail at India International Centre, Lodhi Road